Support FREE and independent European journalism – donate to VoxEurop.

European Union: Peace day

Peace day – Arcadio
La Prensa (Panama City)

Herman Van Rompuy, José Manuel Barroso and Martin Schulz, the Presidents of the Council, the Commission and the European Parliament respectively, received the Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the European Union on December 10 in Oslo.

On October 12, the Nobel Committee explained its decision, saying that "the EU and its predecessors have contributed to more than six decades of work promoting peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe."