On April 2, the Slovenian parliament unanimously endorsed the treaty for Croatia’s accession to the EU.

The vote had been made possible by the March 9 agreement to put an end to a banking dispute that had troubled relations between the two former Yugoslavian countries for 19 years. In 2010, Ljubljana and Zagreb also overcame a border dispute.

Four countries, Germany, Belgium, Denmark and the Netherlands, still have to ratify Croatia’s accession, which is scheduled for July 1.