Cartoon EU Commission Presidency

Secret ballot

Published on 15 July 2014 at 17:15

The European Parliament has elected former Luxembourg Prime minister Jean-Claude Juncker as the next EU Commission’s president after an unprecedented secret ballot vote. Juncker got 422 votes in favour, 250 against and 47 MEPs abstained.

Are you a news organisation, a business, an association or a foundation? Check out our bespoke editorial and translation services.

Support independent European journalism

European democracy needs independent media. Voxeurop needs you. Join our community!

On the same topic