On Tuesday, September 10, the European Commission president-elect Ursula von der Leyen presented her 26-strong team. Each EU member state designated a Commissioner, so that the cabinet is the result of a delicate balance game between geographical distribution and political affiliation.

Before entering into office on November 1, commissioners-designate will need to face parliamentary hearings at the European parliament, and MEPs can reject candidates – they did so in the past. The hearings will start on September 30, but the exact timetable has not been set yet. The Parliament will have a final vote on the entire team at a plenary session in October.

With the collaboration of our partners from Euractiv, we had a look at the main figures on the Von der Leyen Commission.