Cartoon Presidency of the European Commission

The birth of Ursula

Published on 11 July 2019 at 18:05

For the first time a woman has been elected to be the new president of the European Commission. Ursula von der Leyen, former German defense minister, was elected on August 2, after the controversy and disagreement between the political groups of the European Parliament emerged from the recent European elections. The negotiation between French President Emmanuel Macron and German Chancellor Angela Merkel played a leading role in the appointment.
For the post of president of the European Central Bank (ECB) has been elected Christine Lagarde, ex French Finance minister and director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), and for High Representative of Foreign Affairs Josep Borrell, Spanish ministry of Foreign Affairs and former president of the European Parliament.

Are you a news organisation, a business, an association or a foundation? Check out our bespoke editorial and translation services.

Support independent European journalism

European democracy needs independent media. Voxeurop needs you. Join our community!

On the same topic