Press cartoon of the week The Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize

Pegasus of Troy

Published on 19 October 2021 at 16:14

On 14 October, the first Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize was awarded to investigative consortium Forbidden Stories for its work on the Israeli spy software Pegasus.

Rewarding "outstanding journalism that promotes or defends the core principles and values of the EU," the prize, created in 2019 by the European Parliament and awarded by a jury of journalists from across the EU, pays tribute to the Maltese investigative reporter who was murdered in 2017 while investigating corruption, money laundering and organized crime.

Composed of more than 80 journalists from 17 media outlets, the Pegasus Project uncovered a list of more than 50,000 international phone numbers tracked by the eponymous spyware. The list included civil society activists, political leaders and opponents, lawyers and journalists.

Forbidden Stories was founded in 2017 following the murder of Daphne Caruana Galizia. Its mission is to publish and pursue the investigations of threatened, imprisoned or murdered journalists.

Receive the best of European journalism straight to your inbox every Thursday

Was this article useful? If so we are delighted! It is freely available because we believe that the right to free and independent information is essential for democracy. But this right is not guaranteed forever, and independence comes at a cost. We need your support in order to continue publishing independent, multilingual news for all Europeans. Discover our membership offers and their exclusive benefits and become a member of our community now!

Are you a news organisation, a business, an association or a foundation? Check out our bespoke editorial and translation services.

Support independent European journalism

European democracy needs independent media. Join our community!

On the same topic